We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Suggested Destiny 2 campaign order to play

Here’s the suggested Destiny 2 campaign order and Seasons order so you can experience the lore-dense story in the right order on PS5, PS4, Xbox, and PC.

Suggested Destiny 2 campaign order: Mara Sov with Caiatl appearing as a hologram over her shoulder.

Since its release in 2017, Destiny 2 has had a lot of new story expansions, DLCs, and Seasons. That alone can make the Destiny 2 campaign order confusing, add on to that the Destiny Content Vault, a process which has removed significant chunks of content, and it can become a messy experience. Thankfully, we’ve got you covered with the suggested Destiny 2 campaign order, complete with Seasons and Vaulted content.

While experiencing the epic (and complicated) story of Destiny 2, why not check out the best Destiny 2 Titan build, the best Destiny 2 Warlock build, or the best Destiny 2 Hunter build to give yourself a leg-up on the enemies of the Light?

Destiny 2 campaign order

Here is a full list detailing the suggested Destiny 2 campaign  and season order so far:

  • The Red War [Vaulted] – this was Destiny 2’s base game story for its 2017 release
  • Curse of Osiris [Vaulted] – 2017 DLC
  • Warmind [Vaulted] – 2018 DLC
  • Forsaken [Vaulted] – 2018 Expansion
  • Shadowkeep – 2019 Expansion
  • Beyond Light – 2020 Expansion
  • The Witch Queen – 2022 Expansion
  • Lightfall – 2023 Expansion

It’s important to note that much of the original Destiny 2 campaigns and story are now inaccessible in game due to the Destiny Content Vault. No doubt you’ll have to watch recaps of these stories online. Thankfully, Bungie have stated that they don’t intend to Vault any more of Destiny 2’s campaigns from Shadowkeep onwards.

If you’re just getting started with Destiny, it’s important to at least have some knowledge of the story from Shadowkeep onwards, including the Seasonal stories, as the current ‘saga’ truly begins here and is set to conclude with The Final Shape expansion in 2024.

To add another layer of complexity, Bungie has used a Season method of content delivery since Forsaken in 2018. These Seasons slot in between larger expansions to carry the narrative through to the following major expansion.

Here is a full list detailing the suggested Destiny 2 Season order so far:

Forsaken era [Everything Vaulted] (Year 2: 2018 – 2019)

  • Season 4: Season of the Outlaw
  • Season 5: Season of the Forge
  • Season 6: Season of the Drifter
  • Season 7: Season of Opulence

Shadowkeep era [Seasons Vaulted] (Year 3: 2019 – 2020)

  • Season 8: Season of the Undying
  • Season 9: Season of Dawn
  • Season 10: Season of the Worthy
  • Season 11: Season of Arrivals

Beyond Light era [Seasons Vaulted] (Year 4: 2021 – 2022)

  • Season 12: Season of the Hunt
  • Season 13: Season of the Chosen
  • Season 14: Season of the Splicer
  • Season 15: Season of the Lost

The Witch Queen era (Year 5: 2022 – 2023)

  • Season 16: Season of the Risen
  • Season 17: Season of the Haunted
  • Season 18: Season of Plunder
  • Season 19: Season of the Seraph

Lightfall era (Year 6: 2023)

  • Season 20: Season of Defiance
  • Season 21: Season of the Deep
  • Season 22: Season of [Redacted]
  • Season 23: Season of [Redacted]

The Final Shape era (Year 7: 2024)

  • Season 24: Season of [Redacted]
  • Season 25: Season of [Redacted]
  • Season 26: Season of [Redacted]
  • Season 27: Season of [Redacted]

Currently, Destiny 2 Seasons are only accessible during the year they are released. For example, Seasons released during The Witch Queen era (Season 16 – 19) won’t be accessible anymore, while the Lightfall expansion kicks off Year 6 of Destiny with another full year of seasonal content.

Nevertheless, if you wish to catch up on the Destiny 2 story, you can watch or read about the stories prior to the Lightfall era now that the Destiny 2 Lightfall release date is upon us.

That’s everything you need to know to make sure you’re experiencing the Destiny 2 campaign order correctly. Unfortunately, much of it is no longer accessible in-game. On the bright side, the Lightfall year content is some of the best yet, including the Destiny 2 Defiant Battlegrounds, Destiny 2 Vex Incursion Zone, and the challenging but rewarding Destiny 2 Vex Strike Force public event in Neomuna.