We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

All XDefiant game modes

From capturing three different points to escorting a robot to victory, here are the XDefiant game modes you'll be playing on PS5, PS4, Xbox, and PC.

XDefiant game modes: An Echelon soldier wearing black uniform with night-vision goggles.

Variety is the spice of life, and the various XDefiant game modes will help you switch up your strategies and your plans by offering different experiences each time. As well as some more original ideas for game modes, the lineup also includes some classic game modes found in most FPS games.

There are already some great XDefiant game modes available to play, and there’s set to be even more after the XDefiant release date arrives and post-launch content begins. However, if you want to win then you’ll need to know all about the XDefiant Factions and XDefiant classes, as some are better than others in certain modes.

All XDefiant game modes

These are all four XDefiant game modes:

  • Escort
  • Zone Control
  • Domination
  • Occupy
  • Hot Shot

While there are currently five game modes in XDefiant, Ubisoft has promised further modes and content in post-launch updates, as seen in the XDefiant Year 1 roadmap. We don’t know exactly what these modes are as of yet, but we will be getting new arena and progression modes.

Arena modes include Domination, Occupy, and Hot Shot, placing the emphasis more on gunfights and eliminations to achieve victory. Objectives are there to drive and direct the action as they remain static throughout the match.

Progression modes, on the other hand, include Escort and Zone Control and are all about a shifting objective. Generally, the objective will move through the map, with a clear start and end point for both teams. In Progression modes, there is often an attacking and a defending team.

Depending on which mode you’re playing, you’ll have access to a different pool of XDefiant maps. Fans will likely appreciate having bespoke maps for both Arena and Progression style modes, as they are designed very differently to suit the style of action on offer.


In Escort, players are tasked with either moving a robot to a delivery point, or defenders are required to stop the enemies escorting the robot. There are a few checkpoints on the robot’s path, which will change and adjust the spawn points for both teams.

Zone Control

Zone Control sees players attacking or defending various control points. Once a zone has been captured, the objectives will move further into the map.


Stop me if you’ve heard this one before, but Domination is a mode where there are three points on a single map. Both teams are tasked with taking over the three capture points, as the points tick up. Having two or more points captured at a time will give you the advantage.


In Occupy, a single point will change locations as the match progresses, with both teams of players fighting for control over it. Players must move from point to point to capture the zone and earn points for the team.

Hot Shot

Hot Shot is similar to Kill Confirmed from Call of Duty, tasking players will eliminating opponents and collecting the bounty token they drop to score a point. While it’s effective Team Deathmatch with a twist, this extra step to securing a point for your team adds a further layer of complexity and excitement to the action.

We’ll update this guide as more game modes become available over time. Strangely, there’s no standard Team Deathmatch-like mode in the game right now, but it is likely that a similar mode will be available in the future.

YouTube Thumbnail

Those are all the XDefiant game modes currently available in the game. Make sure to set up your loadout right with your favourite XDefiant weapons before you join your next match too. And if you’re struggling to find that perfect weapon, take a look at our list of the best XDefiant guns to get you started.