Valorant ranked: Ranks, MMR, and more explained | The Loadout

Valorant ranked: Ranks, MMR, and more explained

Will you become a Valorant rated player?


Since its closed beta launch in early April, Valorant has brought a new fire to the first-person shooter genre. Riot Games’ tactical shooter, which is scheduled for release in summer 2020, is designed to be one of the best free games on the market with a highly competitive ranked mode to boot.

Of course, the closed beta launched with only a casual mode, but the game’s ranked mode was added to NA and EU servers on April 29 as part of the 0.49 patch. So if you’ve already mastered Raze and are bored of popping heads in casual, we’ve put together a guide on the game’s ranked mode for you to study.

Since we’re in the testing phase, a lot can change, but here is everything we know so far about Valorant’s ranked mode, what ranks it’ll offer, and how it will work.

When is ranked coming to valorant?

Valorant’s competitive mode is live now. The mode uses the same in-game rules as Unrated, but the stakes are higher for everyone involved.

Although the competitive ranked is available now, Riot Games says there may be periods where the mode is unavailable, as developers refine it based on player feedback.

It is worth noting, however, that your closed beta progress will not carry over to the full game, so don’t get too attached to your progress.

what are the valorant ranks?

 Rank Logo
Iron 1
Iron 2
Iron 3
Bronze 1
Bronze 2
Bronze  3
Silver 1
Silver 2
Silver 3
Gold 1
Gold 2
Gold 3
Platinum 1
Platinum 2
Platinum 3
Diamond 1
Diamond 2
Diamond 3
Immortal 1
Immortal 2
Immortal 3

There are eight tiers to Valorant’s ranking system, starting with Iron and ending with Valorant. All tiers except Valorant have three sub-ranks within them, with rank one the lowest and rank three the highest. Therefore, if you exclude unranked, there are 22 ranks in Riot Games’ tactical shooter.


how does the valorant ranking system work?

Valorant’s ranking system works like most competitive games out there. You’ll need to complete 20 unrated matches before you even get the chance to play ranked and then once the mode is available, you can get on the grind.

Winning games is the most important factor when it comes to ranking up in Valorant, but at the beginning, while you play your placement matches, your personal performance is the biggest factor. However, unlike other competitive games, Valorant’s ranking system also takes into account how decisively you win or lose a match. Your KDA should not be your focus if you want to rank up.

The ranking system differs for players with the Valorant title, though. Here Riot Games will only take into account how you win and lose your matches. The studio says this is because they “trust you and your teammates have earned your way there.”

Your rank will also be hidden if you’re inactive for 14 days. This will return once you’ve played your first match back. Your rank will not decay if you go away longer than two weeks either.

Why does valorant allow premades?

Currently, Valorant allows parties of up to five people in ranked mode as long as each player is within two ranks (six tiers) of each other. Ian Fielding, Valorant’s product manager, says this is because Valorant is a team game and Riot believes “playing as a team is a major component in your overall mastery of the game.”

Solo players and smaller parties should be matched together, but if you find yourself against a five-stack, don’t worry – your rank will increase or decrease faster depending on your performance against that team.

Why isn’t there solo queue in valorant?

Valorant is a game that revolves around team play and cooperation. Riot Games doesn’t want to include a solo queue because players shouldn’t have to rely on individual skill to carry them through a game. Ranked matches should be a competitive experience for all where teammates work together to get the win. .

Riot Games will also be matching players based on their pre-made party size to make competitive games fairer for all.


That’s all we have on Valorant’s ranked mode so far. Obviously the game is still in closed beta, so things can change, but for now get stuck in, earn a Twitch drop, and get to grips with the game’s many agents.

Stream like the pros
Product Image 1
Product Image 2
Product Image 3