Diablo 4 classes guide

Get an overview and rundown of the Diablo 4 classes to see which one you will be playing as when you pick up the game on your platform of choice

Diablo 4 Classes: A Necromancer can be seen

Diablo 4 is almost here after years of waiting and ahead of jumping in you will want to know what classes you can play as. Well, this guide will help you out by giving you a brief on all of the initial Diablo 4 classes, as well as any that are added after launch.

Below, you can find a brief overview of each one’s playstyle, as well as any unique aspects they have to their class that aren’t available with the others. We will also run through basic skills and character traits to get you up to speed before you jump in once the Diablo 4 release date arrives.

Diablo 4 classes

Diablo 4 has a total of five classes at launch. These are:

  • Barbarian
  • Druid
  • Sorceress
  • Rogue
  • Necromancer

Below, you can find a deeper dive into each one and what you can expect from their gameplay:


The Barbarian is a brutal and physical warrior that dishes out heavy damage with a wide variety of weapons across the battlefield. They are able to wield a wide variety of weapons in a fight which means that you can switch between one-handed weapons, two-handed weapons, blades, maces, and more.

However, with its brute strength, the Barbarian is largely focused on physical damage and aims for defence and blunt force, rather than incorporating any complex skills and strategies.

  • Bash
  • Flay
  • Frenzy
  • Lightning Strike

Diablo 4 Classes: The Barbarian can be seen


The Druid is a master of shapeshifting and he makes his return in Diablo 4 being able to switch from human to Werebear to Werewolf. With command over storm magic and earth magic, the Druid is able to use skills to annihilate hordes of magic and keep effects on the battlefield as the magic it casts persists.

The Druid’s skills can all be cast in the various forms the class can turn into but they are locked to individual forms. So, you aren’t able to freely cast spells in any form, unlike in Diablo 2.

  • Earthspike
  • Shred
  • Storm Strike
  • Maul
  • Wind Shear

Diablo 4 Classes: The Druid can be seen


The Sorceress is a high-risk high-reward class focused on strong elemental magic at the cost of being a delicate character. In Diablo 4 the spells are centred around Lightning, Fire, and Cold.

Crackling Energy gives the Lightning spells a ball of energy which is left behind on the battlefield after casting and can be collected to restore Mana. Chill from Cold spells can stack on enemies, freezing them after they are hit enough times while Fire spells deal damage over time.

  • Lightning
  • Fire Bolt
  • Frost Bolt
  • Arc Lash

Diablo 4 Classes: The Sorceress can be seen


The rogue is a stealthy assassin able to switch between a number of fast, powerful weapons like ranged bows and crossbows, daggers, swords, and more. They can alternate between the weapon categories, which gives them a wide variety of options and choices in combat.

However, the Rogue also has high mobility up their sleeve, combining aspects of various classes from the past including the original Rogue. There are also elements of the Amazon, Assassin, and Demon Hunter here in Diablo 4.

Diablo 4 Classes: The Rogue can be seen


The Necromancer class is built on a number of different playstyles: Bone, Darkness, Blood, and the Army. Within these playstyles there are resources the Necromancer can utilise. Essence is a slowly regenerating resource gained by using basic skills. Corpses generate a variety of effects from fallen enemies.

They are able to use Scythes. But, in addition they can also use class-specific Necromancer items, as well as shields, daggers, wands, swords, and focuses.

Diablo 4 Classes: The Necromancer can be seen

And that covers what we know about all five of the launch Diablo 4 classes. While you wait to jump in, be sure to check out some of the other best PS5 RPGs and best Xbox RPGs to play while you wait to hop into Blizzard’s latest.