Diablo 4 World Tiers explained

In order to accommodate all players in this new entry in the series, Diablo 4 World Tiers will provide different levels of challenge while playing.

Diablo 4 World Tiers: A player can be seen

What are the Diablo 4 World Tiers? In order to help players experience a world full of thrilling adventures where they will be tested and have to fight their way through waves of hellish creatures, folks at Blizzard came up with the World Tiers system. From new players to veterans looking for bloody trials, the game will provide suitable challenges to everyone.

The excitement around the new instalment in the Diablo series is unquestionable, attracting all kinds of players to spend hours killing demons and looking for better loot. In case you’re a player that has no previous experience with the game or a seasoned one, knowing about the World Tiers will assist you in having a better time with the game, as well as prepare you for what comes in the endgame!

Diablo 4 World Tiers

There are five Diablo 4 World Tiers:

  • World Tier 1 – Adventure
  • World Tier 2 – Veteran
  • World Tier 3 – Nightmare
  • World Tier 4 – Torment
  • World Tier 5

In Diablo 4, World Tiers are the game’s difficulty system that, according to the developers, is a way of measuring the player’s progression. It was developed with the idea of making the world of the game more appropriate for each player, presenting challenges better tuned for the players, considering not only their experience with the game but also the level of their character and equipment.

YouTube Thumbnail

At the beginning of the game, right at level 1, players have access to the first two tiers, Adventure and Veteran. While the first one is better for new players, because enemies are not that strong and they can familiarize themselves with the game as well as the story, the second tier was made for players who want more of a challenge. Once you get to level 50 and complete the campaign, tiers 3, 4, and 5 are unlocked. By going through them, you are able to level up to the game’s level cap which is 100. Not only that, as you face a new tier you will find better gear, such as Sacred and Ancestral item tiers.

Accessing further tiers is not as easy as it sounds. At the end of each tier and in order to access the next one, you need to face a boss. By having a powerful enemy gatekeeping player’s progress, developers believe it’s a good way to justify their efforts in levelling up and optimizing their gear. It’s mentioned in the interview by IGN with Diablo 4’s director Joe Shely that even in the last tier, there is a final boss which is extremely difficult.

Diablo 4 World Tiers: A player can be seen fighting a boss

World Tier 1 – Adventurer

This is the easiest tier in the game where players, as already mentioned, don’t need to worry too much about enemies. While in this tier drops are not as regular or higher tier as in other difficulties, Adventurer mode is the best option if you want to just enjoy the story.

World Tier 2 – Veteran

The second difficulty available for players right at the beginning of the game is the Veteran mode. In this one, enemies are stronger, but you can also get more drops. This is a good call if you want to reach level 50 faster!

World Tier 3 – Nightmare

Unlocked after you get to level 50 and complete the campaign, this is the first step you take in your journey to Diablo 4’s endgame. The Nightmare Dungeons are also only accessible to players that got to the Nightmare mode. In general, you receive more experience in this mode, but your character is less resistant to damage.

World Tier 4

This is one of the harder World Tiers, unlocked after reaching level 70. This difficulty has more fearsome enemies, 200% increased experience, and monsters have 40% resistance. Monsters also drop 15% more Gold and it is unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in the Dry Steps.

World Tier 5

Information about World Tier 5 is not known yet.

And that’s all about Diablo 4 World Tiers that you need to know to prepare yourself. In case you’re considering jumping into this adventure, be sure to write down the Diablo 4 beta release date to test the game and see which World Tier you’re going to start the game when it’s officially released.