Destiny 2 companion API and DIM expected to be back online very soon

Are you having a tough time playing Destiny 2 without the companion app or DIM? Well, you'll be pleased to know both features will be available again shortly

Destiny 2 Companion API DIM back online: an image of a a creature from the FPS game

If there’s one thing (or two things) that can help almost every Destiny 2 player make the most of their time playing Bungie’s looter shooter, it’s the Destiny Companion – and the Destiny Item Manager (DIM). These external assets can be beyond useful if you’re trying to work out what loot you need to go for next – or keep track of all the loot you have so far. Following numerous error code issues with both of these, though, Bungie disabled the Destiny companion API over the weekend – rendering both unusable. However, you’ll be pleased to know that Bungie Help has confirmed that the API is being re-enabled in a matter of hours and both the Destiny Companion and DIM should be available again soon.

More specifically, the hotfix expected to fix these issues and re-enable the API is due to drop at 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT on December 13. This is going to be available on all platforms simultaneously. All you need to do is remember that you’re going to be removed from the game between the aforemnetioned time and 08:45 PST / 11:45 EST / 16:45 GMT – to allow Bungie to implement the update successfully.

However, you won’t have to wait too long to get back into the fight. Players should be able to log back into the game from 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT.

If you’re wondering what the Destiny Companion API is, and why it’s so important for these features, you’re not alone. This, in an effort to explain this as simply as possible, is something that defines how Destiny 2 connects to these additional applications. So, as you might expect, if this isn’t working properly, you’re not going to be getting any kind of accurate information on the Destiny Companion or DIM.

If you’re worried about losing out on your dungeon triumphs, you’ll be pleased to know that a temporary change is in place where players must claim completion triumphs for Grasp of Avarice, Duality, and Spire of the Watcher while in the dungeon. If you forget, you will actually be able to return and claim them – at least for now.

YouTube Thumbnail

So, whether you’re trying to use the best Destiny 2 Hunter build, the best Destiny 2 Warlock build, or the best Destiny 2 Titan build, the DIM can be an invaluable resource for figuring out what you should aim for next when it comes to unlocking weapons, armour, and equipment. It’s also handy if you’re wondering whether you should go after any rerolls after an update, or even just to save yourself the time and effort of travelling back and forth to the Tower to change out gear. We’re happy to see these features return so soon, and we just hope there aren’t any more issues in the future.

This is just one of several issues affecting Bungie’s FPS at the moment, with the broken Destiny 2 Jade Rabbit currently disabled due to a bugged perk. However, we’re not sure anyone’s too sad to see the end of this particular exploit.