Apex Legends Ranks: Ranked Series 3, splits, and scoring explained | The Loadout

Apex Legends Ranks: Ranked Series 3, splits, and scoring explained

Will you become an Apex Predator in Season 4 of Apex Legends?

Apex Legends Revenant

Whether you’re a seasoned Apex Legends pro or a new player that’s been sucked in by the games reveal of Season 4 and Revenant, a lot of changes have been made to the game over the last year, especially to the battle royale’s ranking system.

It’s been a year since Respawn and EA joined forces to launch Apex Legends and since then, the developers have learned a lot about competitive play in this free-to-play esports title. A new ranking tier has been added for this series, assists are worth more, and the Apex Predator rank is reserved for the top 500 players on each platform.

Of course, becoming a Master Apex Legends player isn’t going to be easy, especially when the Apex Predator ranks shift daily, so you’re going to need to know the inner workings of the game if that’s what you’re working towards. Luckily for you, we’ve got everything you need to know about Apex Legends Season 4‘s ranked mode, including the different tiers, the cost of competing, ranked splits, and more.

So, without further ado, here is everything you need to know about Apex Legends’ ranked series 3.

What are the Apex Legends ranks?

Apex Legends has seven ranking tiers starting at Bronze and stretching all the way to Apex Predator. Each tier has a set amount of ranking points you need to achieve before you move into the next bracket. These are highlighted below:

Rank tier Logo
Bronze (base rank) Apex Legends Rank Bronze
Silver (1,200 RP) Apex Legends Rank silver
Gold (2,800 RP) Apex Legends Rank gold
Platinum (4,800 RP) Apex Legends Rank platinum
Diamond (7,200 RP) Apex Legends Rank Diamond
Master (10,000 RP) Apex Legends Rank Master
Apex Predator (Top 500 players) Apex Legends Rank Apex Predator

How much rp does it cost to play apex legends ranked?

Like in previous series, players will have to pay an RP cost for playing Apex Legends Ranked Series 3. This means you’ll automatically lose a set amount of RP if you crash out of your game early, so be careful if you want to stake a claim for Apex Predator.

Here are the RP costs for each tier:

  • Bronze matches: free
  • Silver matches: 12RP
  • Gold matches: 24RP
  • Platinum matches: 36RP
  • Diamond matches: 48RP
  • Master matches: 60RP
  • Apex Predator matches: 60RP

Apex Legends

Why do I keep losing my Apex Predator rank?

Respawn and EA have changed the way the ranking system in Apex Legends works because too many players made it to Apex Predator in Series 2. To combat this, Master tier has been added to the game and sits between Diamond and Apex Predator. The RP required to make it to Master will be 10,000RP – the amount required for Apex Predator last series.

But this also means Respawn has made some changes to the way Apex Predator works too. Now, only the top 500 players on each platform will have the title, so your rank is likely to shift in real time between Apex Predator and Master as other players gain and lose RP.

How does the Apex Legends scoring system work?

The scoring system for Apex Legends Ranked Series 3 is pretty much the same as before, although Respawn is rewarding players more for assists this time around.

To do this, the assist timer has been extended from 5 seconds to 7.5 seconds, allowing players a bigger window to nab some extra points in the process. Mirage’s decoy, Bloodhound’s tracking, Pathfinder’s grapple, and Crypto’s EMP will now also land you assist points.

Finishing in the top ten teams will still net you valuable RP points, which are then multiplied by the number of kills and/or assists you have that match.

Players who leave games early usually lose RP, although there is a loss forgiveness system in place to protect players who have accidentally lost connection for whatever reason.

Why is Apex Legends getting ranked splits?

The Apex Legends ranked season is going to be divided into two splits to generate a competitive spirit and keep players engaged. The first split will be played on World’s Edge from February 4 – March 4 and the second split will be played on King’s Canyon from March 5 – May 5.

Ranks will suffer a soft reset in between the two splits and rewards will be granted for the highest tier achieved in either split. Players can also earn exclusive animated badges if they make it to the same tier in both splits.

When will the soft reset in apex legends happen?

The soft reset will happen in between Apex Legend’s first and second splits of ranked series 3. Like at the start of Season 4, players will see their ranks dropped by 1.5 tiers in between the two splits. So if you finished the first split in Gold II, you’ll start the second split in Silver IV.

Why can’t I join my friend’s party in apex legends?

Respawn has restricted certain tiers from playing with one another to combat boosting in Apex Legends. So, as of this season, players who are ranked Platinum and above can only party up with friends who are one tier different from them.

There is no way of getting around this.

what is the distribution of ranks in apex Legends?

With the cost of competing in Apex Legends, it can be difficult to achieve Apex Predator status. Don’t worry if you’re stuck in Gold though because, according to Respawn and EA, that’s the average rank most players achieved in ranked season 2.

Related: How Apex Legends’ esports ruleset was created

As of January 10, 2020, players who spent more than five hours of ranked Apex Legends in Series 2 had the following ranks:

Rank Distribution
Bronze 3.9%
Silver 29.1%
Gold 35.3%
Platinum 23.6%
Diamond 7.1%
Apex Predator 1%

If you compare these with the results from the first ranked series, it’s clear that players found it easier to reach higher ranks. In fact, the number of players claiming Apex Predator status rose from 0.2% to 1% in a single season. This is one of the reasons why Respawn is adding the Master tier and reworking Apex Predator for the new season.

What are the Apex Legends season 4 rewards?

Gun charms, badges, and dive trails will be given out to players in Apex Legends Ranked Series 3 based on the highest rank they achieve in the series. However, dive trails will only be available to equip for the duration of the series. This is to prevent the drop zones from becoming overcrowded with trails and to allow ranked rewards to hold their value over time.