Rocket League ranks, MMR, distribution, more

To climb the Rocket League ranks, you'll need a good understanding of how the ranking system works in the competitive car football game with rocket boosters.

Rocket League ranks: A green car hits the ball while mid-air and upside-down in Rocket League

What are the Rocket League ranks? We all love a bit of frantic, fast-paced aerial car football, don’t we? Rocket League stands in a field of its own as a competitive multiplayer game, with its mixture of teamwork, coordination, precise aim, and driving skills making it hard to squeeze into any pre-existing genre.

Because it’s so unique, Rocket League has a massive following and has become a top-tier esport. But it isn’t just the pro players who get to play competitively; Rocket League has a ranking system that allows you to progress through the Rocket League ranks from Unranked to Supersonic Legend across a host of different competitive game modes. If you want to up your Rocket League game, or you’re just a sucker for the grind, then ranked play is where you’ll want to be.

What are the Rocket League ranks?

There are currently 23 Rocket League ranks from Unranked to Supersonic Legend. The majority of ranks are also split into three sub-divisions.

Here are the Rocket League ranks: 

Rank Symbol
Unranked Rocket League ranks Unranked
Bronze I Rocket League Ranks Bronze 1
Bronze II Rocket League Ranks Bronze 2
Bronze III Rocket League Ranks Bronze 3
Silver I Rocket League Ranks Silver 1
Silver II
Silver III Rocket League Ranks Silver 3
Gold I
Gold II Rocket League Ranks Gold 2
Gold III Rocket League Ranks Gold 3
Platinum I Rocket League Ranks Platinum 1
Platinum II Rocket League Ranks Platinum 2
Platinum III Rocket League Ranks Platinum 3
Diamond I Rocket League Ranks Diamond 1
Diamond II Rocket League Ranks Diamond 2
Diamond III Rocket League Ranks Diamond 3
Champion I Rocket League Ranks Champion 1
Champion II Rocket League Ranks Champion 2
Champion III Rocket League Ranks Champion 3
 Grand Champion I
Grand Champion II
Grand Champion III
Supersonic Legend

Before the massive free-to-play update in September 2020, Grand Champion was the highest Rocket League rank that players could reach. However, Grand Champion has been knocked into second place and divided into three sub tiers, with Supersonic Legend now being the ultimate accolade for competitive Rocket League players.

It’s also worth noting that each of the competitive game modes in Rocket League have their own ranking ladder to climb, so you will have a different rank in each mode. For example, you could be a Platinum 3 player in Standard, but only Silver 2 in Doubles.

Your rank is determined by your MMR, or Matchmaking Rank. Wins make it go up, losses make it go down, and each rank and division has a set MMR target value you need to reach in order to progress.

What is Rocket League ranks MMR?

Rocket League MMR stands for Matchmaking Rank and is a hidden score that determines what rank you are in and acts as a way to place you against opponents with roughly similar skill levels for balance.

Your rank (e.g. Gold 1) is just a visual representation of your Rocket League MMR value and players in the same rank as you are of roughly the same skill level. As you get better or worse, so should your rank.

It can all be a bit confusing, but there’s a good resource for those interested in MMR, where you can also see your own score, or ‘skill rating.’ It gives you a breakdown of what score you need to achieve to get into the next rank and shows global skill rating leaderboards.

The amount of MMR you earn for each win or lose for each defeat is determined by the MMR of your opponent. For example, if you face an opponent who is higher ranked than you, you will gain more MMR points for a victory than you would have beating someone of the same rank or lower ranked than you.

Goals, assists, and Most Valued Player awards don’t affect the amount of MMR you gain, despite contrary belief.

If you’re queueing up as a party in Rocket League ranks, MMR is calculated slightly differently when it comes to matchmaking.  Each player in the party will have their MMR value tweaked for those matches, and this is weighted more heavily towards the best and highest-ranked player in your party. This is to prevent a single high-ranked player being able to join lower-ranked friends to face off against easier opposition.

How to unlock Rocket League ranked mode

To unlock Rocket League’s ranked mode and playlists, you must reach level ten in the game by playing regular modes. This is to ensure players have a decent knowledge of Rocket League before diving into competitive matches.

Once the ranked mode is unlocked, you will then play some placement matches to determine which rank you should start at.

How do Rocket League ranks work?

Once you’ve played your placement matches and assigned your starting rank based on those results, you will then start to be matched with players of roughly the same skill level as you. The tiered ranking system in Rocket League works using your MMR value. Wins will see you move up the ranking system and losses will see you fall.

Each rank has a specific MMR threshold, so once your MMR value exceeds the maximum value of that threshold, you are promoted to the division above. The actual values of the thresholds are subject to change and can shift depending on how many players are in certain ranks in order to keep things balanced and not have too many players up in the higher rankings.

Rocket League ranks distribution

At the end of each season, Rocket League players are always interested in seeing the rank distribution. With so many Rocket League ranks to climb in competitive, they often wonder ‘how many players actually reached the very top tier?’ and ‘what is the average rank in Rocket League?’ With the latest rank distribution data, you’ll be able to see the spread of the player base, giving you a good benchmark to see how well you did that season.

The Rocket League rank distribution at the moment (updated July 2023) shows how things are looking across the three core competitive ranked modes. The percentage shows how much of the overall player is sitting in each rank.

Tier Duel Standard Doubles
Unranked N/A N/A N/A
Bronze 1 0.03% 0.06% 0.04%
Bronze 2 0.07% 0.14% 0.05%
Bronze 3 0.20% 0.36% 0.12%
Silver 1 0.52% 0.89% 0.25%
Silver 2 1.29% 1.96% 0.51%
Silver 3 2.80% 3.68% 0.95%
Gold 1 5.59% 6.09% 1.73%
Gold 2 9.72% 8.33% 2.77%
Gold 3 13.99% 10.08% 4.30%
Platinum 1 17.45% 10.98% 6.50%
Platinum 2 16.70% 10.66% 8.49%
Platinum 3 12.61% 10.01% 10.31%
Diamond 1 8.58% 11.40% 14.96%
Diamond 2 4.94% 8.64% 13.86%
Diamond 3 2.59% 6.23% 11.79%
Champion 1 1.44% 5.48% 12.15%
Champion 2 0.71% 2.63% 6.23%
Champion 3 0.37% 1.36% 3.12%
Grand Champion 1 0.20% 0.71% 1.47%
Grand Champion 2 0.10% 0.28% 0.35%
Grand Champion 3 0.05% 0.05% 0.07%
Supersonic Legend 0.06% 0.00% 0.02%

With only less than 2% of ranked players ever reaching Grand Champion rank or higher in any of the main game modes, you can see just how difficult it is to be the very best at competitive Rocket League.

Rocket League ranks playlists

  • Standard (3v3)
  • Doubles (2v2)
  • Duel (1v1)
  • Hoops (2v2)
  • Snow Day (3v3)
  • Rumble (3v3)
  • Dropshot (3v3)

There are seven ranked playlists to choose from in Rocket League. The main three (Standard, Doubles, and Duel) are the most popular and serious playlists for competitive players.

The four other modes still give you a rank and rewards to aim for, but while playing more experimental and fun modes in a slightly less competitive environment.

YouTube Thumbnail

That’s everything you need to know about Rocket League ranks and the latest Rocket League ranked season. Make sure you check out our other guides from best Rocket League cars to Rocket League clears to hone your skill.