You can catch a shiny Vulpix for the first time in Pokémon GO’s autumn event

Autumn has certainly set in here at The Loadout. Skies are grey and the heating’s on – there was even a hailstorm last night! But, there is a shining beacon of hope amongst the grim weather, and that is Pokémon GO’s autumnal event kicking off on October 9.

The event lasts from October 9, 8:00 am PDT (11.00 am EDT, 4.00 pm BST) until October 12 at 1:00 pm PDT (4.00 pm EDT, 9.00 pm BST). First up in the list of event bonuses is berry-themed Field and Timed Research, perfect for players without stocks of the items. Berries will also be twice as effective when feeding your buddy, and Pinap berries will reward twice their usual number of candy.

Autumnal Pokémon will also be spawning more frequently (no, we don’t know how they’ve worked out which Pokémon are autumnal either), including: Oddish, Vulpix, Bayleef, Hoothoot, Sudowoodo, Yanma, Pineco, Zigzagoon, Seedot, Shroomish, Plant Cloak Burmy, and Foongus. Shiny Vulpix will also be available for the first time in-game and autumn-themed Pokémon will also be hatching from eggs!

Deerling – in its Autumn form – will be debuting in Pokémon GO as the latest Generation 5 monster to join the fray. Unfortunately, it’s not one of the best Pokémon in Pokémon GO, but it’s very cute at least. It also edges us closer to the release of Generation 6, which will add Sylveon and complete the Eevee evolutions available in the game.

Don’t forget, October also sees the return of Charmander Community Day and players can collect a free remote raid pass every week. If you’re looking to take on raids remotely, make sure to check out our Pokémon type chart to ensure you’re dealing the most damage.