Cyberpunk 2077 PS5 and Xbox Series X upgrade now available

Have you been waiting for Cyberpunk 2077 PS5 and Xbox Series X news? Well, the Cyberpunk 2077 release date for current-gen platforms is here

Cyberpunk 2077 next gen announcement: A split image of two main characters from Cyberpunk 2077

It seems like we’ve been stuck in the futuristic Cyberpunk 2077 waiting room for months and months now on the PS5 and Xbox Series X upgrade front, but the game has hit its Q1 2022 release date. Yes, the PS5 and Xbox Series X free update for Cyberpunk 2077 is out now.

The Polish developer announced the news during a ‘RedStream’ on February 15, at 8am PT / 11am ET / 3pm GMT / 4 pm CET. The stream showed footage on PS5, Xbox Series S, and Xbox Series X. The upgrade comes with “ray-tracing features”, 4K dynamic scaling resolution, improved loading times and a number of other improvements according to CD Projekt Red. The game also features DualSense haptic feedback on PS5, with adaptive trigger support as well.

As for how the game performs, we expect to see breakdowns of how the game runs in the coming days, but you will see two graphical options, Dynamic 4K with ray-tracing or dynamic 4K at 60 fps.

Alongside this upgrade, if you don’t own the game, you can play a free trial of Cyberpunk 2077 thanks to a demo on the PlayStation and Microsoft stores. The upgrade also launches alongside patch 1.5 which brings a number of key gameplay changes and bug fixes.

You can see 30 minutes of gameplay for the game on PS5 and Xbox Series X below, alongside the launch trailer for both versions of the game:

CD Projekt Red is clearly hoping to see a resurgence in the player base with this upgrade as a lot of the bugs and issues have been ironed out. However, whether it can regain the trust of those fans and players that feel burned by the original release of the game is a harder question to answer.