Is the Modern Warfare 2 beta free to play?

Are you looking to know if the Modern Warfare 2 beta is free to play? Here is what you need to know about the game's release plans

Modern Warfare 2 Free To Play: The player can be seen holding a weapon with two other players

If you are jumping into the beta for MW2, you may be wondering if the Modern Warfare 2 beta is free to play and if the full game will be. Well, with Modern Warfare 2 coming out at a time when Activision is being bought by Microsoft, deals and details are still up in the air.

But, don’t worry as this guide will go over what you need to know about Activision’s release plans and how you can expect to play the shooter.

So, read on to know if the Modern Warfare 2 beta is free to play.

Is the Modern Warfare 2 beta free to play?

Yes, the Modern Warfare 2 beta will be free to play for everyone on Xbox and PC from September 24, 2022 at 10:00 PT, 13:00 ET, 18:00 BST, 19:00 CEST. The beta is currently free to everyone on PlayStation.

As for the full game, Modern Warfare 2 won’t be free to play when it releases in October. So, you will need to buy it to get hands-on with the game and play its multiplayer, campaign, or Spec Ops modes.

So there you have it. Despite an acquisition by Microsoft, it won’t be completed by the time the game comes out so Modern Warfare 2 on Game Pass won’t be happening either, alongside no Modern Warfare 2 free-to-play release. For more on the game if you are putting your money down, check out our guide on all the Modern Warfare 2 guns and how Modern Warfare 2 crossplay works so you can play with your friends.