PUBG Ranked: Ranks, RP, rulesets, and more

Become the master of the chicken dinner with PUBG's new and improved ranked mode

PUBG's DBS shotgun

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds is one of the best battle royale games out there. Despite being released in 2016, PUBG is still an exciting game that breeds competitiveness among its players. The long-anticipated addition of a proper ranked mode to PUBG should increase that competitiveness as more players than ever before attempt to secure a tasty chicken dinner and climb the ranks.

The new ranked mode, which replaced the old Survival Title system, finally gives PUBG the competitive edge it needs to bring it in line with other online games. While it doesn’t have splits like Apex Legends ranked, it does have new content and rulesets tailored to each and every season.

So if you’re looking to master the battlefield and win yourself some chicken dinners in Season 9, then you’re going to need to know your stuff. Here’s everything we know about PUBG ranked, including the different ranks and tiers, RP, rulesets, rank decay, and more.

 What are the PUBG ranks?

PUBG has six ranking tiers starting with Bronze and ending with Master. Each tier has five divisions within them, with 5 being the lowest and 1 the highest. This means there are 30 ranks in total if you exclude unranked from the list.

Rank tiers Logo

How does the PUBG ranking system work?

To begin your PUBG ranked journey, you’ll need to complete five placement matches against players of different ranks. Once you’ve completed these matches, you’ll be given your first rank based on your performance.

Your rank will be measured on the amount of kills and assists you get per game, as well as your placement. Ranks will increase or decrease depending on your performance after each match you play.

If you leave a match early, then your placement points will be calculated based on your team’s placement at the time. If you decide to stick around though and your teammates carry you to a chicken dinner, you’ll record a first place win.

In Season 9, PUBG Corp altered the ranking system slightly. The above still counts, but you’ll also get addition RP for elimination someone who ranked higher than five divisions or more above you. The higher ranked they are, the more RP you’ll gain, so if you want to rank up faster, this is the way to go.


Yes, ranked PUBG has a completely different ruleset to regular games. Ranked uses a variant of the SUPER settings that PUBG esports uses, so 64 players will be queued together for a match on Erangel, Miramar, Vikendi, or Sanhok. Loot will also be better to make games more competitive, and the blue zones will move faster than normal.

Red zones and BRDM-2’s have been removed for ranked play.

What maps can I play ranked PUBG on?

Currently ranked is only available for TPP and FPP Squads and Solos on Erangel, Miramar, Sanhok, and Vikendi.

It’s not yet clear if Season 9 map Paramo will be added to the competitive map pool.


No, PUBG’s ranked mode does not have bots. While bots have been added to the game recently, these can only be found in regular matches.

why can’t i queue with my friends in pubg ranked?

If you’re struggling to find a game as a premade in PUBG, then chances are your ranks are too far apart. Ranked rules stipulate that players must not be ranked more than 10 divisions away from each other.

You’ll also need to have a minimum Survival Mastery level of 40 to play ranked. This was upped from level 20 in Season 8.


Rank decay is a real thing in PUBG. If you were ranked diamond or above in the game and you’ve not played a single game for a week or more, your rank will decay over time. Rank decay will not affect players below that rank, though.

Plus, ranks will be reset in between seasons. So if you last played in Season 7, then you’ll need to play five matches to re-calibrate your rank. It’s worth saying though that your RP has only been soft reset, so your rank in the previous season will influence your new rank.

What are the PUBG Season 9 rewards?

For Season 9, we currently don’t know what the rewards are.

However, in Season 8 there were two sets of skins up for grabs.

Players who ranked in Gold V or above unlocked a ranked UAZ skin and players who ranked in Diamond V or above unlocked a ranked parachute skin.

Players of all ranks also received a name plate and emblem recognising the tier they achieved that season. The top 500 players of each region were also given a top 500 emblem to show off to their friends.

Stream like the pros
Product Image 1
Product Image 2
Product Image 3