We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Final Fantasy 16 map, regions explained

The Final Fantasy 16 map impresses us not only with the places we can explore across Valisthea, but also the views to behold as well.

While the new numbered entry in the famous RPG series brings a major change to combat, the Final Fantasy 16 map is still responsible for leaving players speechless with breathtaking scenarios and vistas. From medieval cities built around colossal crystals to large waterfalls, players can explore a vast number of places in Valisthea.

We spent plenty of time exploring the map during our Final Fantasy 16 review playthrough, experiencing the different regions of Valisthea in one of the best PS5 RPG games out there. So, if you’re preparing to make your way through the game, here’s everything you need to know about the map.

Final Fantasy 16 map explained

The Final Fantasy 16 map is split into seven important locations and kingdoms:

  • Hideaway
  • The Iron Kingdom
  • The Grand Duchy of Rosaria
  • The Dhalmekian Republic
  • The Crystalline Dominion
  • The Kingdom of Waloed
  • The Holy Empire of Sembreque

Final Fantasy 16 map in-game with numerous levels unlocked

In Final Fantasy 16, the world map is, as previously mentioned, divided into the nations and minor regions of Valisthea. The regions become accessible to the player as they progress through the Final Fantasy 16 quests.

Yoshida has also explained that players can visit the already discovered locations as many times as they want by using the world map – a system that can be used any time during the game – which works as a fast travel system. This is a useful feature because there are not only side quests but also materials that can be found or dropped by enemies present in certain areas.

Final Fantasy 16 doesn’t have hidden dungeons to be found. Because there aren’t any secret places to be found through extensive periods of exploration, players can focus more on the story as intended by the team behind the game. On the other hand, some of the accessible areas are quite large. There are four major locations that have an area of two by two kilometers.

Final Fantasy 16 Map: Clive can be seen in the open world

One of the core locations is the Final Fantasy 16 Hideaway, which is a neutral territory where Clive can find a safe place to rest between missions. Then, we have the nations, places such as the Kingdom of Waloed and the Dhalmekian Republic that have their own rulers and different cultures.

Because Final Fantasy 16 is story-driven, visiting the nations is tied to Clive’s quests, and the cities are initially unlocked as players complete parts of the story. While these stages can be replayed by accessing the Arete Stone at the Hideaway, most locations are open for players to visit whenever they want. All the regular NPCs players need to upgrade their gear or buy consumables can be found at the Hideaway.

Close to major cities, there are also smaller places that players can visit during the game. These include small villages, forests, and even dungeons, and they are usually part of the territory of each nation.

Final Fantasy 16 Map: A large city can be seen

That’s everything you need to know about the Final Fantasy 16 map, how the world map system works in the game, and the regions found on the map. In case you want to know more about your trek across Valisthea, be sure to check our guide on Final Fantasy 16 Eikons who are fundamental to this game’s story, and the Final Fantasy 16 bosses you will fight.