Mixer was supposed to shut down yesterday – it hasn’t

On June 22, Mixer’s demise was announced. Although the streaming platform didn’t take off quite as Microsoft had expected to, not many people thought the platform would just disappear – and yet here we are.

Except it hasn’t just disappeared. Mixer’s last day was scheduled to be July 22, but the servers haven’t been switched off. Mixer is still up and running even though that date has come and gone.

As you can imagine, the platform is a bit of a ghost town currently. It’s full of streams showing pre-recorded content, redirecting people to new profiles on platforms like Twitch, Facebook, and YouTube. There’s even a few creators still streaming or holding a funeral parties for the soon-to-be defunct platform, waiting for the lights to just go off. Apparently, though, Mixer will actually turn off on July 23, and it was a mistake to advertise any different.

Esports consultant and journalist Rod ‘Slasher’ Breslau tweets that “Mixer can’t even have a proper shutdown send-off. I’m told Mixer will actually go down tomorrow at 11 AM PDT (19:00 BST / 14:00 EST) but marketing messed up and never fixed it”. This at least explains the hold-up, and gives us a real time for the website to go dark.

We’ll be keeping an eye on what’s going on Mixer until its last breath, thinking about its rise and fall, and we’ll have a look for any more creators streaming to the “Fuck You” category.