We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds release date, story, gameplay

Here's when the Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds release date was, as well as all you need to know about its story and gameplay on PS5 and Xbox.

Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds release date: Dani next to a blue monster holding a gun

When was the Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds release date? Far Cry 6 got its major expansion more than a year after the launch of the game on PS5 and Xbox, and it’s certainly a wild ride through Yara and beyond.

The open-world game’s expansion is mostly separated from the main campaign, with its own guns, progression, and land to explore. So, you won’t need to be a Far Cry 6 mastermind to be able to jump in and get a taste of Lost Between Worlds.

Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds release date

Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds released on December 6, 2022, on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, and Xbox One. This expansion launched just one week after its initial reveal, offering a brand new story-based experience that takes place both outside of Yara and also inside of it as a host of otherworldly creatures have invaded.

Having been announced on November 29, 2022, Lost Between Worlds came as quite the surprise – not least because it was so dramatically different in scope to the rest of the game. Though it didn’t go down a storm with the critics (it has a Metascore of 63), there are plenty of cool ideas in there.

Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds story

This extraterrestrial story sees a vessel called FAI become entrapped with Dani in the encasement for 5 million years. Your goal is to traverse the rifts of Yara, fractured simulations of the region infused with extraterrestrial elements that bend space.

You can check out a tease of that story with the trailer below:

YouTube Thumbnail

Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds gameplay

Lost Between Worlds follows a similar formula to the best Roguelike games. With a mixture of puzzles and combat Lost Between Worlds tasks you with finding five shards in five different rifts. Each time you retrieve a shard you will become more powerful in the expansion and the full range of combat options will be available.

In the expansion, you have two different ammo types – red and blue. To defeat enemies, you will need to match the ammo types to be able to deal high damage to the enemy with the matching color.

Each rift has shortcuts that make each run quicker and runs through each rift can be repeated. Progression between them can be saved between playthroughs by finding glints in the world and the goal is to collect all five shards in one run through the rifts.

You can check an overview of how the gameplay works below:

YouTube Thumbnail

And that covers everything you need to know about when the Far Cry 6 Lost Between Worlds release date was and the expansion as a whole. For more pew pew magic, check out the best FPS games you can play right now – be it on PS5 or Xbox.