We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen expansion overview, story, and more

Here is everything you need to know about the game-changing Destiny 2 The Witch Queen expansion.

Savathun can be seen standing and looking in the distance.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen expansion delivered one of, if not the best content updates to the game to date, with new activities and gameplay additions, including, of course, the arrival of Savathûn herself.

With a slight delay that has changed the release cadence of Destiny content ever since, Destiny 2 The Witch Queen is certainly an expansion to pick up if you’re new to one of the best FPS games. So, here’s all you need to know to get started, including the new activities, features, and more.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen release date

The Destiny 2 The Witch Queen expansion was released on Tuesday, February 22, 2022, on all platforms, including PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PC, and even the now-deceased Google Stadia.

The came after a delay from the expected September yearly release schedule of Destiny content ever since Destiny 1. Pushing the expansion back to February has meant a shift in the yearly update cadence ever since, which has since changed once more with The Final Shape.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen editions and pre-order bonuses

Destiny 2’s The Witch Queen expansion had two editions of the game. The base version, the Deluxe Edition, and the Collector’s Edition, the latter of which came with a real-life Hive Ghost.

The game’s Deluxe Edition came with Season 16 to 19’s Battle Passes, two Year 5 Dungeons, an Exotic SMG known as Osteo Striga as well as its catalyst and ornament, and an Exotic Sparrow.

Standard Edition pre-orders got The Throne World Exotic Ghost Shell, the Enigma Exotic emote, and an exclusive emblem. Deluxe Edition pre-orders also got access to these bonuses.

Nowadays, you can still gain access to most of this content via other means, so you’re not missing out if you’re late to the party. For example, all you need to do to get the incredible Osteo Striga is finish The Witch Queen’s campaign – which is well worth the effort even now.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen story

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen focused on the Hive god, Savathûn. After the death of Oryx, Savathûn went into hiding and, in this expansion, ‘stole’ the Guardian’s light.

In the expansion, you can experience the story of Savathûn and her Lucent Hive, Light-infused enemies that can perform Guardian abilities and even have Ghosts.

However, there’s a lot more going on here that we don’t want to spoil, even if the expansion isn’t the latest release anymore.

You can see the narrative reveal trailer below for a sneak peek if you’re contemplating purchasing this past expansion:

YouTube Thumbnail

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen Savathûn’s Throne World

Savathûn’s Throne World was the new location added in Destiny 2’s The Witch Queen expansion. The location included Savathûn’s palace, as well as several swamp areas surrounding it and even a Pyramid ship that acts as the stage for one of the game’s best-ever raids, even today.

Take a look at the trailer below for a quick look, whether you’re thinking of venturing here for the first time or simply want to rewatch the great trailer yet again.

YouTube Thumbnail

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen glaive weapon

One of The Witch Queen’s biggest additions was the glaive, a brand-new weapon type that has gone on to create a handful of strong and remarkably unique builds.

While you don’t need the expansion to get them anymore, it’s still a great introduction to this weapon type if you’re a newer player.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen: A Guardian stand with the Glaive weapon.

Destiny 2 The Witch Queen new activities and features

The biggest addition in The Witch Queen was weapon crafting, which allowed for custom weaponry with unique mod, shader, and stat combinations. While The Witch Queen isn’t essential to weapon crafting, with many new craftable weapons having been released since and the system has seen quite a few significant changes, the story does introduce you to this system. After all, there is actually a strong narrative hook behind how Destiny 2’s weapon crafting functions.

Already mentioned above is the Lucent Hive faction which provides a fresh combat challenge for newcomers and veterans alike. There is also the incredible Vow of the Disciple raid to battle through with your fellow Guardians.

Well, that’s all there is to know about Destiny 2 The Witch Queen, whether you’re a New Light Guardian or a long-time veteran. Get stuck in Guardian, you’ve got work to do.