Here’s how to delete PS4 and PS5 users

A step by step guide to binning extra accounts on your console

A close up of the side of a PS5 console

If you’re using your PlayStation 4 or 5 as a home entertainment system, chances are you’ve got quite a few accounts linked to your console. If you’re getting to the stage where you’re rapidly running out of room or someone isn’t using their account, chances are you’re going to want to remove it.

Luckily for you, we’ve got the lowdown on how to delete both PS4 and PS5 accounts from your console. This is particularly handy if you’re looking to make some space on your trusty console or you’re getting ready to sell it.

So fear not, this guide will take you through the process of deleting an account from your PS4 and PS5. We’ll even talk you through how to close your account in its entirety with Sony if you want to, so read on for everything you need to know about account closure on both the PS4 and the PS5.

How to delete a PS4 user

If you’ve got a PlayStation 4 or PlayStation 4 Pro, here’s how to can a user account:

  • Head to Settings.
  • Select Login Settings on the drop-down menu, and then User Management, which will allow you to alter user accounts.
  • Under User Management, select Delete User, and this will give you a list of user accounts.
  • Select the one you want to delete, hit delete and then confirm your choice.

Deleting a PS4 account is really that simple. Remember that deleting an  account will get rid of all locally held saves, screenshots and video clips, in addition to that users login details, so make sure they’re backed up if they’re particularly important to the user.

How to delete a PS5 user

Got a PlayStation 5? Here’s how to delete any unwanted accounts, for just about any reason you want.

The instructions vary ever so slightly from above, so follow the steps carefully below to delete the account successfully:

  • Click on the cog icon at the upper right of your screen to get into the Settings menu.
  • From Settings, head for Users and Accounts.
  • Scroll down to Users and select the user you’d like to ditch and go through the prompts.

As above, remember that deleting a user account will delete all of those screenshots, video clips and saves that haven’t safely migrated to the cloud.

How to delete a PSN account for good

If, for some reason, you want to cut all ties to Sony, you can close your actual PlayStation account. To do this, you’ll need to contact Sony directly through this link.

You’ll need to have your sign in name and email address handy.

However, be warned that this isn’t something you should do rashly. Closing your account will mean that you cant use that email address or name to create another online account, you’ll lose access to any purchases on the account, and you won’t be able to transfer your account details elsewhere.

You can refund, but only in line with Sony’s typical refund policy. Also, you lose any funds in your PSN wallet too.

The best PS5 games
Product Image 1
$59.99
$52.77
View
Product Image 2
$69.99
$59.94
View
Product Image 3
$71.89
View