We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Like A Dragon Ishin chapters list

Get to grips with the localised Like a Dragon: Ishin runtime, including post-game extras and the full Like A dragon Ishin chapters list and times.

Like A Dragon Ishin Chapters: Kiryu can be seen alongside other players

Given that it’s based on 2014’s Ryu Ga Gotoku Ishin!, 2023’s Like a Dragon Ishin chapters carefully follow the same story beats as the original game. As such, the campaign runtime for this localised remake is more or less identical. But like all Yakuza games, Ishin presents players with hours and hours of supplementary fun. It’s fair to say that rushing through the story would be the wrong approach here, as protagonist Sakamoto Ryoma can be pulled in a million directions as you progress through each chapter.

You’ll unlock compelling substories as you progress and stumble upon moreish rhythmic minigames like karaoke, wood chopping, and even udon noodle serving. And, after the first few chapters, the game introduces more developed side content. There are Battle Dungeons and Arena battles to endure, and Chapter 4 allows you to participate in Like A Dragon Ishin Another Life, where Ryoma cooks and cares for a young girl. Perfect if you’re into games like Stardew Valley and Harvest Moon. Like a Dragon: Ishin is packed with buckets of additional gameplay that can turn hours into days, but for those of you looking to find out how long it takes to complete each chapter, and, ultimately, the game, then we’ve got you covered.

Like A Dragon Ishin chapters

There are 14 Like a Dragon: Ishin Chapters:

  • Chapter 1 – Escaping Home (120 minutes)
  • Chapter 2- The Man named Saito Hajime (120 – 140 minutes)
  • Chapter 3 – Mibu Wolves (60 minutes)
  • Chapter 4 – Joint Struggle ( 180 minutes)
  • Chapter 5 – The Iron Code (140 – 180 minutes)
  • Chapter 6- The Ikedaya Incident (60 minutes)
  • Chapter 7- The Two Ryomas ( 120 minutes)
  • Chapter 8 – The Mad Dog Howls (90 – 120 minutes)
  • Chapter 9 – Feud of the Ages (45 minutes)
  • Chapter 10 – True Identities (90 minutes – 120 minutes)
  • Chapter 11 – The Great Gamble (90 minutes)
  • Chapter 12 – Kyo Ablaze (60 minutes)
  • Chapter 13 – The Assassination of Sakamoto Ryoma (90 – 120 minutes)
  • Chapter 14 (Finale) – Dawn Breaks (60 – 90 minutes)

If you managed to play the Japanese version of Ishin, you’ll see that the runtime keeps at a similar pace. It’s worth noting that if you focus on the campaign and don’t manage to explore all of the rich sub-stories scattered across Kyo’s reasonably sized map, the post-credits game mode Bakumatsu Premium Adventure gives you more opportunity to see through every sidequest you missed.

It’s also worth noting that not all features of the Like a Dragon: Ishin are available from the get-go, and pause menu options like Letters and Another Life will remain greyed out until unlocked through gameplay. The same goes for areas of the map that may not be accessible through blocks like crowds or gates. Almost all of these features are open from Chapter 5, so playing through the main story until that point opens the map up greatly.

If you are struggling to navigate your way through the Like a Dragon Ishin chapters, our guide on How to Upgrade Weapons in Like a Dragon Ishin can help you get the best gear sorted. Our Like A Dragon Ishin Virtue guide offers advice on how to min-max your way to success through all the boss battles and minigames Ishin throws at you.