We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

God of War Ragnarok realms - all the locations you can visit

Looking for information about the God of War Ragnarok realms? Here are all the locations you can visit that have everything from gods to monsters

God of War Ragnarok Realms: The creature can be seen flying above Kratos and Atreus

Our favourite grimacing god Kratos and his son Atreus are making a comeback in God of War Ragnarok, and we’re here for the gruff cries of ‘boy’ and the ensuing whining. The first game was set in a world full of Norse mythology that had many locations to explore, which is why this guide will explore all the God of War Ragnarok realms.

The God of War Ragnarok realms are based on the realms of Norse mythology – locations that are inhabited by humans, gods, dwarves, and creatures good and evil that either want to help or hinder you. There are new realms this time around to explore, too, with you able to visit all of them.

God of War Ragnarok realms

There are nine realms to explore in God of War Ragnarok. These are:

  • Midgard
  • Alfheim
  • Helheim
  • Jotunheim
  • Muspelheim
  • Niflheim
  • Vanaheim
  • Svartalfheim
  • Asgard


Midgard is Norse mythology’s version of a human-inhabited earth. It’s the largest of the realms and where Kratos and Atreus have made their home. Unfortunately, Midgard is slap bang in the centre of Ragnarok and the various gods’ plans to fight one another. Add to that the draugr enemies you will face and all the other creatures that will keep you up at night and it means most of the human population has been killed or long ago run for the hills.


Alfheim is a world occupied by elves divided into two categories: light elves and dark elves. These elves were at each other’s throats in the first game, with Kratos and Atreus stuck in the middle. It’s home to the temple of Freyr and an enormous lake at its centre, while it’s decorated with lush greenery for you to explore.


The location of the infamous Norse afterlife, Helheim is a stark and dangerous place. This realm is enforced by Hel-Walkers, who torment the individuals trapped in the realm. Helheim plays tracks on all who enter, showing them illusions, nightmares, and generally playing tricks on those unlucky enough to find themselves trapped there.


Jotunheim is the home of the giants and is covered in snowy mountains that loom even larger than the giants who inhabit its lands. The giants of Jotunheim were killed by the Aesir, who suspected that the giants might bring on Ragnarok. Judging by the God of War sequel’s name, we don’t think they were very successful.


Like Jotunheim, Muspelheim is home to giants, but this time it’s of the fire variety. Muspelheim is ruled by Surtr, the ruler of the fire giants. Surtr and his compatriots spend their time honing their combat abilities and awaiting Ragnarok, at which time they plan to take the fight to the Aesir, march on Asgard, and avenge their Jotunheim brethren.


Niflheim is the place of primordial beings that remember the beginnings of time. The realm is set on an ice plane world that has a cloud of toxic smoke that pervades its atmosphere and poisons anything or anyone that touches it. Due to its adverse conditions, it’s a realm in which warriors go to test their abilities. Niflheim is also where the dwarf alchemist Ivaldi came from.


New for God of War Ragnarok, Vanaheim is the home of the Vanir gods like Freya, who Kratos meets in the first game. Magic is heavy in the air in this realm and its surroundings are full of dark forests that reflect this. The Vanir gods are rivals to the Aesir gods and Kratos and Atreus will likely find themselves here looking for allies or hunting down enemies.


Unlike many of the other realms, which contain all kinds of gods and monsters, Svartalfheim is home to the dwarves. They are keen inventors and have created technologies that are beyond comprehension to even the gods. The dwarves closely guard information about Svartalfheim, but we know that only dwarves are allowed to enter the realm, so how Kratos and Atreus will gain entry is yet to be determined.


Everyone has heard of Asgard by now. It’s the home of the Aesir gods, like Loki and Thor, and is at the centre of all Norse mythology. It’s home to Valhalla, which is where warriors go when they die. Like Svartalfheim, Asgard is a realm restricted to only the Aesir gods and no other races are admitted. However, legend has it that the realm will be destroyed when Ragnarok comes.

That’s everything we know about the God of War Ragnarok realms. For more information on the game, read our God of War Ragnarok characters guide to see everyone who makes an appearance. You can also check out the voice actors and cast to see who brings your favourite characters to life.