The LoL Worlds 2020 knockout draw features all-LCK and all-LPL fixtures

After a surprisingly predictable stage with few upsets, the 2020 League of Legends Worlds knockout stage is looking particularly stacked with talent and spicy fixtures this year.

While there will be no North American teams in the knockout stage for the second year running, top teams from Europe, China, and Korea will now all do battle in the quarter-finals. The two favourites for Worlds 2020, Top Esports and DAMWON Gaming, have both been handed tricky ties – but then again, there’s no such thing as an easy tie at Worlds. Group D winners Top will take on the 2011 world champions Fnatic, while Group B’s top team DAMWON have an all-LCK tie with DRX. Last year’s Worlds runner up G2 has been handed a tie against Group C winners Gen.G, while Suning and JD Gaming have been drawn together for an all-LPL battle on the Rift.

Despite all that talent, no team left the group stage with a perfect 6-0 record, since all suffered at least one defeat. Top, DAMWON, and Gen.G had the joint best record in the group stage, each finishing with five wins and one loss. Suning and G2 both finished on 4-2 records, but Suning took the top spot after a thrilling 44-minute tiebreaker.

So far, Worlds has already attracted enormous audiences despite only being in the early stages. The current highest peak for viewership sits at over 1.8 million, according to Esports Charts Pro, for Gen.G’s match against the now eliminated LGD Gaming. Expect much higher numbers than that as we enter a knockout stage stacked with top players and teams.

Here are the Worlds 2020 quarter-final fixtures and schedule:

  • Oct 15: DAMWON vs DRX
  • Oct 16: Suning vs JD Gaming
  • Oct 17: Top Esports vs Fnatic
  • Oct 18: Gen.G vs G2

All matches are scheduled for 03:00 PDT (06:00 EDT/ 11:00 BST) each day.

For a refresher on who’s who at this year’s tournament, check out our extensive guide to the Worlds 2020 rosters and players.