Flashpoint confirms FPX’s CS:GO team will be replaced for Phase 2 | The Loadout

Flashpoint confirms FPX’s CS:GO team will be replaced for Phase 2

Flashpoint

It’s not the start to life in CS:GO that FunPlus Phoenix would’ve wanted. The organisation, who is best known for its League of Legends roster winning last years World Championships, were set to enter the inaugural season of Flashpoint after acquiring Heroic’s Danish roster, but a series of events means they will now be replaced before today’s Phase 2 group stage draw.

After Astralis agreed a deal to sign FPX’s Patrick ‘Es3tag’ Hansen on the expiration of his contract in July and Casper ‘CadiaN’ Møller revealed yesterday, March 25, that he would be returning to Denmark, talks between Heroic and FPX appeared to fall apart.

A representative from Flashpoint has now confirmed to HLTV that FPX will not be involved in Phase 2 of the league’s first season and that a replacement team should be announced before the group stage draw commences today, March 26, at 12:00 PDT (15:00 EDT/ 19:00 GMT).

Whichever team is chosen to replace FPX will now likely inherit the 15 points awarded to them in Phase 1, which saw the team lose its opening fixture to Cloud9 and then forfeit its loser bracket tie against Orgless.

MAD Lions, MIBR, and Cloud9 all topped their respective groups in Phase 1.

FunPlus Phoenix’s short-lived start to life in CS:GO esports will be frustrating to say the least, and it will be interesting to see if the organisation tries to reenter the scene for a second time at some point in the future.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.