Dr Lupo hopes to raise $2 million for children’s hospital with 24 hour stream

DrLupo

Popular streamer Benjamin ‘DrLupo’ Lupo is hoping to raise $2 million for St Jude Children’s Research Hospital this year with a 24 hour stream for the PLAY LIVE campaign. The 32-year-old raised $600,000 this time last year for the charity, which is close to his heart.

The streamer recently signed an extended contract with Twitch alongside Saqib ‘Lirik’ Zahid, and Timothy ‘TimTheTatman’ Betar, to continue giving his charity streams the best possible chance of raising money for good causes like St Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

And although DrLupo’s goal this year might seen ambitious, it’s only been reinforced by his recent visits to the hospital.  “For the people that get admitted and stay there, their families uproot pretty much everything that they have to go and devote everything they can to try to save their child from whatever they’re up against,” he tells The Washington Post.

Since its debut in 2014, the PLAY LIVE initiative has raised over $20m (£15m) with over 20,000 different streamers taking part. MatPat and Stephanie Patrick from The Game Theorists raised just over $1.3m (£988k) two weeks ago.

So far, the PLAY LIVE campaign has raised more than $3.8 million in donations.

DrLupo’s 24 hour stream will begin at 10AM PT (1PM ET, 6PM GMT) on December 21.