Delayed RLCS Season 9 fixtures will be played this weekend | The Loadout

Delayed RLCS Season 9 fixtures will be played this weekend

Rocket League

After technical issues with Psyonix’s servers saw the first week of Rocket League Championship Series fixtures for Season 9 called off, the RLCS has now confirmed that the action will kick off this weekend.

The disruption, which affected the two largest RLCS leagues in North America and Europe, will now see the fixtures that were meant to be played last week take place this weekend, with the whole regular season currently being pushed back. Whether a round of competition will be played mid-week at some stage to get the RLCS back on its initial schedule is currently unclear.

RLCS Season 9 will belatedly kick off tomorrow, February 8, 15:00 EST (12:00 PST/ 20:00 GMT) with the NA fixtures. The first matchup will see Pittsburgh Knights taking on one of the two new teams to the league – following its expansion from eight to ten teams – Flight. Meanwhile, the EU fixtures will now begin on February 9, 12:00 EST (09:00 PST/ 15:00 GMT) with Team Reciprocity playing Team Singularity.

The other two RLCS leagues in South America and Oceania have not had their schedules affected by the Rocket League server outage due to starting later into the season.

The finals of Season 9 are likely to remain on the same schedule and will still be contested between April 24-26. NRG are the reigning champions.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.