Legends of Runeterra’s open beta will feature a full ranked season

Legends of Runeterra Lux

Riot’s upcoming strategy card game Legends of Runeterra, will be getting a free open beta later this month that features a number of improvements and a full season of ranked play.

Legends of Runeterra, which was one of several new title announcements during Riot’s 10th Anniversary celebrations, has already seen massive popularity during its first two limited-access trials and is now ready to be unleashed to everyone. The open beta, which will be available from January 23 for players who participated in the first Runeterra trials and January 24 for everyone else, will feature a friends list, ‘challenge-a-friend functionality’, and some new boards and guardians.

The most interesting aspect of the beta, however, is that there will be a ranked season – dubbed ‘Beta Season’ – in which players can climb rankings “from Iron all the way to Master,” according to a press release from Riot. All accounts – including those who played in previous trials – will have stats reset for ranked play. However, stats from the Beta Season will carry over to when the game officially launches.

Legends of Runeterra, which was revealed to have been in the works for almost a decade by Riot’s CEO, will be available on PC and mobile and be cross-platform when it eventually releases later this year. However, this open beta will be exclusively on PC.

The exact time of the beta’s launch will be Thursday, January 23, 02:00 EST (07:00 BST/ 23:00 PST on January 22) for early access players, and the same times the day after for new players.