New League of Legends skins for Akali, Shen, and Kennen will aid COVID-19 relief

In times of need, people rally together to help one another, and League of Legends’ new skins are designed to do just that. Riot Games has announced that all the proceeds from purchases of Akali, Shen, and Kennen’s medical-themed skins, will go towards the company’s Social Impact Fund to help front-line health workers across the world.

So far this year, Riot Games and its fans have helped raise more than $5.1 million for global pandemic relief, but the League of Legends publisher wants to take it one step further with its latest skin drop. Starting today, players will be able pick up the Surgeon Shen, Nurse Akali, and Kennen M.D. skins, along with their respective chromas, border, and icon set, as well as the From Akali With Love emote. The Megadonor bundle, which includes all of the above, plus an exclusive Megadonor icon, will also be available to purchase.

“We know there’s still more to do, which is why we’re holding a charity fundraiser in League for the next four weeks,” the blog states. “During this time we’ll be donating 100% of proceeds from Nurse Akali, Kennen M. D., and Surgeon Shen – and other related items – to the Riot Games Social Impact Fund.”

The skins, which you can see in all their glory below, will be available from today (June 25) from 1PM PT ( 4PM ET / 9PM BST) until July 23 at the same time.

All the items that qualify for the charity donation will be marked with a Social Impact badge in the store, so it’s clear what you’re buying if you fancy it.

All in all, it’s a great cause – so dig deep if you want to be able to spam ‘Nurse Akali will see you now’ when you gank your next opponent.