Organisers confirm the Boycott Blizzard protest at Blizzcon is on | The Loadout

Organisers confirm the Boycott Blizzard protest at Blizzcon is on

BlizzCon

A protest planned for the first day of BlizzCon will be going “full steam ahead” despite Blizzard reducing Hearthstone player Chung ‘Blitzchung’ Ng Wai’s ban earlier this month. The protest, organised by Fight For The Future and Gamers For Freedom, will be held outside the Anaheim Convention Centre on Friday.

The non-violent and creative protest, has been organised to put pressure on Blizzard, which has been embroiled in a Hong Kong censorship debate since the banning of Blitzchung at Grandmasters on October 6. Protesters are being encouraged to bring umbrellas as a sign of solidarity with protesters in Hong Kong, as well as signs, gas masks, and more.

Seaking to Gamespot, Dayton Young, one of the organisers, says: “That Blizzard has shown a willingness to re-evaluate their decision is a small step in the right direction, but make no mistake; Blizzard continues to punish these individuals despite widespread outrage from gamers around the world.

“We understand that game publishers and developers have a responsibility to moderate the content that appears on their platforms to ensure that gamers are safe from harassment, threats of violence, and other dangerous behaviour. But silencing gamers who speak up about issues that affect their freedom makes us all less safe from oppression and institutional abuse.”

Those unable to make the protest are being asked to tweet and email their favourite developers, pro players, and event sponsors, to call on their support and show their solidarity with Hong Kong and free speech in general.

A handbook has also been created for protesters to ensure that everyone knows their rights before the protest begins at 12pm PDT (2PM EST / 7PM GMT) on November 1.