Fortnite now has 350 million registered players

Fortnite

The amount of people playing Fortnite has expanded astronomically over the last few  years. The game, which is likely been boosted by the ongoing lockdown measures, now has 350 million registered players according to a tweet by Epic Games, which, if translated to one account per person, makes up about four percent of the world’s population.

To celebrate the latest figures, which jumped from 250 million registered accounts in March 2019, Epic Games will be holding a party with live music from Dillon Francis, Steve Aoki, and DeadMau5 for players to enjoy online from 9PM PT (12AM ET / 5AM BST) on May 8.

“Fortnite now has over 350 million registered players,” Epic says on Twitter. “In April players spent over 3.2 billion hours in game.” The play count was likely helped along by the Travis Scott concert,  which was held in-game across a number of days in April, and pulled in more than 27 million users.

While it’s easy to sign up for a free-to-play game these days, Fortnite’s numbers are impressive. The battle royale faces stiff competition from the likes of Apex Legends, which was the most downloaded free-to-play game on PlayStation in 2019, Call of Duty: Warzone, and more.

But considering the game is still pulling in millions of players nearly three years after its launch, Fortnite isn’t going anywhere soon.