Cyberpunk 2077 dev sets embargo for content creators to avoid spoilers

A man leans against a supercar in the foreground, looking out over a Cyberpunk city

With the highly anticipated Cyberpunk 2077 finally set to land next Thursday, December 10, developer CD Projekt Red has attempted to get ahead of any pre-launch leaks by setting a strict streaming and content creation embargo.

“However difficult this might be for us to achieve, our ambition is for gamers all across the world to have the same – spoiler free – experience at the time the game releases,” says an announcement made to the game’s official Twitter account. The team “kindly ask” that no streams, let’s plays, or any similar content is shared prior to December 9 at 03:00 PST (06:00 EST/ 11:00 GMT). In the account’s edgy style, the announcement then pivots to say that MAX-TAC, a special unit of the game’s police force and “the guys who take down videos”, will be sent after everyone who breaks the embargo.

In the weeks leading up to launch, CD Projekt Red has continued to release new gameplay footage of Cyberpunk 2077 running on both current and next-gen hardware.

Most recently, we got a first look at its extensive photo mode, though, strangely, we’ve yet to see any footage of the game running on the standard PS4 and Xbox One.

Even if you do own the next-gen systems, the version of Cyberpunk 2077 you’ll have access to at launch is the current-gen version running in backwards-compatibility mode. The native next-gen upgrade is expected to drop sometime next year.

{"schema":{"page":{"content":{"headline":"Cyberpunk 2077 dev sets embargo for content creators to avoid spoilers","type":"post","category":"cyberpunk-2077"},"user":{"loginstatus":false},"game":{"publisher":"CD Projekt Red","genre":"FPS","title":"Cyberpunk 2077","genres":["FPS","RPG"]}}}}