Respawn announces Apex Legends Global Series, will host four majors next year

The Global Series will have a total prize pool of over $3 million.

Apex Legends Octane

It’s been a long time coming but Apex Legends is getting a Global Series that boasts four Majors and a $3 million prize pool. Respawn Entertainment made the announcement earlier today to bolster the strength of the battle royale’s esports ecosystem.

Competitors will have to duke it out online on PC to win Apex Legends Global Series points, in order to be invited to one of the 12 tournaments run by Respawn, PGL or GLL. The top performing teams from the end of each stage will be invited to the live events and the Global Series Majors.

“Competition is at the heart of Apex Legends,” Vince Zampella, head of Respawn Entertainment, says. “We expect that esports will play a big role in the future of Apex Legends and it all starts here, with the Apex Legends Global Series. We look forward to seeing who, out of our millions of players, will become true legends of the arena.”

The first three Majors will feature 100 three-player squads from around the world, with the fourth Major, the Apex Legends Global Series Championship, acting as the big finale. Only 60 Apex Legends teams will compete here for their share of $1 million.­

All of the Majors will feature the Match Point format, which debuted at the Apex Legends Preseason Invitational in September. Match Point requires teams in the finals to reach a points threshold through a combination of match placement and accumulated kills, making matches more exciting to watch.

“Apex Legends is one of the most impactful launches in videogame history and it possesses immense esports potential,” John Nelson, Apex Legends competitive gaming commissioner, says. “Through close communication with our community, we’ve built an accessible Apex Legends ecosystem where any player can become a potential star while the world watches our unique, entertaining take on Battle Royale esports.”

The first Apex Legends Global Series tournament takes place on January 25. Registration will open early next year.